Welt

EU US THUMBNAIL 02:06 Aktuelles

Reinforcing the transatlantic bonds

Welt - 03.05.2018 14:44

What is the relationship between the European Parliament and the US Congress? How often do they meet? What do they talk about?

Sacharow-Preis 01:35 Aktuelles

Demokratische Opposition Venezuelas erhält Sacharow-Preis 2017

Welt - 13.12.2017 14:30

Der Sacharow-Preis 2017 für geistige Freiheit wurde allen politischen Gefangenen Venezuelas sowie der demokratischen Opposition, vertreten durch Julio Borges, den Präsidenten der Nationalversammlung, verliehen. „Dieser Preis gebührt jedem einzelnen Bürger unseres Landes“, so Julio Borges bei der Preisverleihung in Straßburg. Der Sacharow-Preis für geistige Freiheit, nach dem sowjetischen Physiker und politischen Dissidenten Andrei Sacharow benannt, wird jährlich vom Europäischen Parlament verliehen.

Venezuela 04:16 Aktuelles

Sacharow-Preis 2017: Venezuelas Opposition in einem Krisenland

Welt - 08.12.2017 09:00

Venezuela steckt in einer wirtschaftlichen und politischen Krise. Die politische Opposition des Landes kämpft täglich für die Wiedergewinnung der Freiheit. Das Europäische Parlament hat den Sacharow-Preis 2017 für geistige Freiheit allen politischen Gefangenen in Venezuela und der demokratischen Opposition, vertreten durch Julio Borges, Präsident der Nationalversammlung, verliehen.

Migrant 01:25 Aktuelles

Eine europäische Lösung für Asylbewerber in Europa

Welt - 21.11.2017 16:00

Das Europäische Unterstützungsbüro für Asylfragen (EASO) befindet sich in Malta. Das Europäische Parlament möchte seine Rolle im Gemeinsamen Europäischen Asylsystem stärken, damit Europa besser für die Flüchtlingsströme gerüstet ist.

Baum in der Wüste 01:25 Aktuelles

COP 23: Ein Schritt weiter

Welt - 31.10.2017 08:00

Nach Paris und Marrakesch findet nun in Bonn die UN-Klimakonferenz COP 23 statt. Die Abgeordneten fordern eine Null-Emissionsstrategie sowie Maßnahmen zur Begrenzung des Temperaturanstiegs.

Drohender Schatten zweier Polizisten vor der Tür 00:51

Der Sacharow-Preis für geistige Freiheit

Welt - 23.10.2017 13:39

Die Achtung der Menschenrechte ist einer der Grundwerte der Europäischen Union. Ein Verstoß gegen diese Rechte beeinträchtigt das demokratische Fundament, auf dem unsere Gesellschaft gründet. Das Europäische Parlament geht gegen derartige Verstöße mit gesetzgeberischen Maßnahmen und der Verankerung der Menschenrechte in seinen Außenhandelsabkommen vor. Als weiteres Zeichen seines Engagements für die Menschenrechte zeichnet das Europäische Parlament Personen, die Außerordentliches im Kampf für die Menschenrechte geleistet haben, mit dem jährlichen Sacharow-Preis für geistige Freiheit aus.

Kubanisches Auto 02:09 Aktuelles

Die EU und Kuba : Ein Neubeginn

Welt - 04.07.2017 08:44

Die Europäische Union normalisiert ihre Beziehungen zu Kuba mit dem ersten bilateralen Abkommen aller Zeiten. Damit soll ein politischer Dialog in Gang gesetzt sowie Handel und Zusammenarbeit erleichtert werden.

World

Sakharov prize 01:35 News

Venezuela’s democratic opposition is awarded Sakharov Prize 2017

World - 13.12.2017 14:30

The 2017 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of thought has been awarded to all political prisoners in Venezuela and the democratic opposition, represented by the president of its National Assembly Julio Borges. “This award is a recognition for every Venezuelan”, said Julio Borges while receiving the Prize in Strasbourg. The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, named in honour of the Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov, is awarded each year by the European Parliament.

Venezuela 04:16 News

Sakharov Prize 2017: Venezuela’s opposition in a crisis-struck country

World - 08.12.2017 09:00

Venezuela is facing an economic and political crisis. The country's political opposition is fighting every day to regain freedom. The European Parliament awarded the 2017 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought to all political prisoners in Venezuela and the democratic opposition, represented by the president of its National Assembly Julio Borges.

migrant 01:25 News

A European solution for asylum seekers in Europe

World - 21.11.2017 16:00

The European Asylum Support Office (EASO) is based in Malta. The European Parliament is working on strengthening its role within the Common European Asylum System, in order to help Europe better cope with the refugee flows.

Tree in the desert 01:25 News

COP23: a step further

World - 31.10.2017 08:00

After Paris and Marrakesh, Bonn is welcoming the COP23 on climate change. MEPs call to set up a zero emission strategy and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature rise.

Two menacing shadows of polimen in the doorway 00:51

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought

World - 23.10.2017 13:39

The respect for human rights is one of the European Union's fundamental values. Any violation of these rights affects the democratic principles upon which our society is founded, The European Parliament fights such violations through legislative action, and by enshrining human rights in its external trade agreements. The European Parliament also supports human rights by awarding the annual Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the fight for human rights.

Cuba's car 02:09 News

EU-Cuba: a new start

World - 04.07.2017 08:44

The European Union is normalising its relationship with Cuba with the first-ever bilateral deal. The objective is to launch a political dialogue and to facilitate trade and cooperation.